Like a rainstorm in January

Two updates in one month?? Madness, I know. I’m trying to get better at regular updates. Seeing as this is only January, we’ll see how it goes.

Writing:

So I pointed out last time that one of my biggest goals for this year is to finally become the writer I pretend to be. Which means actually typing up my notes and stories. I downloaded a word tracker (actually the same one I tried downloading last year, but I couldn’t get it to work. Clearly 2016 was doomed from the start for me). So far it says I’ve only written about 3,000 words, but it’s better than nothing.

I’ve been focusing on the story I started in November. I love the character I’ve been developing, and it’s been fun creating some new mythology. Because no one else wants to believe that phoenixes are real. I’m also getting excited about my other novel again. Forcing myself to write every day is getting easier. The ideas for both stories are coming much easier. It’s a good feeling.

Reading: 

I decided to create my own reading challenge without hassling my friends about what book they’d be reading that month. I’m sure my friends are very relieved.

I started this month with two different books by Jenny Lawson, The Bloggess. I don’t even know how these books ended up on my list, but I’m so happy that they did. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened was fun and weird. Everything that has happened to her is ridiculous, but believable, because I know someone who has never had anything normal happen to her either. Furiously Happy made me feel more than I planned on feeling. While the first book was more of a memoir, Furiously Happy was just so much more than I expected. I expected it to be funny and strange, which of course it was, but I didn’t expect it to bring me to tears. Sometimes I feel pretty insane, but her determination to be successful and happy when there’s so much wrong was strangely inspiring. It made me think about my own life quite a bit. Then a cried a little more, but in a good way.

Coffee intake:

Could definitely be improved.

Plots and plans:

I am generally disorganized as a person. This just a fact. I’m trying really hard to get my life together this year (definitely trying harder than last year, actually). The biggest help that I’ve found is using a planner. I had planners in school, all the way up through college and I loved them. I’ve been sort of lazy about using them the past few years, but I’m hoping that will change.

I have two planners this year, which might sound strange, but trust me, it makes sense. I have a pineapple one that’s about the size of a notebook that I’m using for normal life stuff. Bills, work, vacation, forced family bonding. Then I have a smaller one that I’m using for my writer goals. I looked at the next two months and planned out how much I should be reading and writing each day. My days off I’ve turned into full work days. I even got different color gel pens for reading, writing, and blog posts. I’m getting so organized.

The idea is to make the most of my time. There’s no reason for me not to be writing, or reading more books. I’m making myself get up earlier than usual as well. This also sounds crazy, but I move much faster when I’ve had three cups of coffee before I’ve even gotten to work. I don’t know how I lived before I got this automatic coffee maker. I set it for 6:30am, so I’m pretty much waking up to the smell of coffee. It’s amazing. And it sets the tone for my day. By the time I get to work I’m energized and ready to go. I spend less time being grumpy and more time getting things done.

We’re three weeks in to January, and I haven’t lost any momentum yet. I’m pretty sure this is a new record for me. I hope everyone else is keeping to their own goals, or resolutions, or small things they’d like to accomplish. fullsizerender

For encouragement I have included a picture of the handsome Editor Cat. He’s currently in his favorite position, on my lap, between me and my computer. I’ve gotten pretty good at typing around him. Not that he’d ever move. Time for me to get back to writing.

Thanks for reading!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Updates, Writing inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

