The end of March and the beginning of thunderstorms

It’s that time of year again, dear readers. Spring has mostly arrived, signaled by my least favorite day of the year(April 1). I know Indiana has a habit of returning to Winter even on the warmest of Spring days, but I’m praying that the random snowstorms have called it quits for a few months.

Usually this is the time of the year when I get that itch for spring cleaning, and I spend half of my week cleaning. The other half is usually spent regretting the tornado I’ve started. At this time last year, my cleaning was going full force because of my plan to move to Pennsylvania. I had high hopes for my year. I’m pretty sure I tossed half of the stuff in my apartment to make the move. The weeks leading up to my move were rough, and the months that followed were even worse. I’m still unsure if I made any good decisions last year.

This year, so far, has been different. There has been to itch to clean, to rush to toss out what I don’t need. I came back with so little that I’m wondering when I’ll recover. I finally have a toaster (yeah, toast!) but I still can’t find my iron. I have my dishes back so I can cook, but I can barely afford real groceries.

Part of me feels more mature this year. I’ve been more aware of the state of things in my life. Keep up with the dishes, pick up the living room before bed, fold my clothes when they come out of the dryer. But then there’s the part of me that’s just like, “I don’t need to be an adult today. I’m just going to eat frozen burritos all week.” It can be conflicting.

Weather and depression aside, things are going better. I’m pushing through my reading challenge, finishing three books this month. The fourth will probably be done in the next few days. I’ve only had it for eight years. It’s probably time I finish it.

I’ve enjoyed most of the books I’ve read, even the ones I wouldn’t normally pick up. My favorite one for this month was published only a year ago. The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble was a quick and fun read. If you’re looking for an escape to a slightly magical world, I definitely recommend reading it.

Next month’s reading challenge might prove to be more difficult. April’s challenge is books from a local author. Any suggestions for an Indiana writer?

This month I’ve also gotten a chance to work on my editing skills, thanks to my amazing writing buddy. She has given me another story to edit, and I gave her a list of notes. It was a content edit, as opposed to my usual “tear this apart” edit. I enjoyed stepping into the story, and talking to her about the world she had created. This woman doesn’t half-ass anything. Seriously, check out her blog.

That’s all the updates I can share at the moment. Time to get back to burritos and writing. Thanks for reading! And if you have any suggestions for an Indiana writer to read, please leave a comment!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

