On the upside of January

In my mind, winter is almost over. I’m tired of the bitter cold and icy roads. A winter scene may look beautiful, but I have an irrational fear of driving in the snow. I’m trying to forget that sometimes it snows all the way until April in Indiana. What a lovely state I’ve chosen to return to. But enough of the weather-rant.

In keeping with my last post, I have been pushing myself to accomplish more. To be the person I’ve been pretending to be. I have successfully finished this month’s reading challenge, which was a book that has been made into a movie. I read Water for Elephants, Divergent, Gone Girl, and The Hobbit. 

I feel silly for being proud of myself, but I can’t help it. I read Divergent in only a few hours, and Gone Girl over the course of a few days. Part of me feels back to normal again, reading all three books before they’re due back at the library. It feels good to get lost in stories again. It reminds me of what I’ve always loved. Stories.

I’ve also managed to keep up my goal for writing each day. My plan has been to get at least an hour of writing done each day, which for the most part I have. I am back to work on my novel, but I am also working on a short story. I’ve restarted my journaling again, which has given an outlet to some of my stress. I tend to have more bad days than good days, so keeping a journal helps me work through those feelings. Once I get all that negativity out on paper, I can start looking at the good things that are happening as well. It reminds me not to give up.

The new goal for February is to have something solid to edit. I am doing an editing exchange with a writer friend in the middle of the month. I’m excited to read her new work because she has such a unique voice. Now I just need to make sure I have something for her to edit.

The reading challenge for February is a book that’s been recommended by a friend. So far I have a few ideas, but if anyone out there wants to throw out some suggestions, be sure to leave a comment below! And if anyone else is on Goodreads, be sure to look me up!

Things seem sort of bumpy right now, but I’m trying to remain steady. I have my books and my journals and enough coffee to get me through the next snow storm.

Thanks for reading! Stay warm out there!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

