I’m not ready to be a digital writer, but I guess I’ll start trying

The people that know me know that I like my books the old fashioned way, hardcover books filling up every free space in my home. But, that’s the problem with living in the modern world(you should know that I sighed when I wrote that sentence). The world is going digital, a fact I’ve been fighting since I first learned that you could read the newspaper online.

I always wanted to be a writer. I dreamt of going to the bookstore and seeing my books on the shelves. I wanted a bookshelf at home, full of copies of the books I’ve published. I was a weird kid. It took me a while to come around to the fact that more people are turning to digital platforms such as Amazon, blogs like this, or websites like Thought Catalog or even Cracked.

I recently downloaded an app on my phone called Wattpad. It’s a cool little place for writers to post stores, chapter by chapter. They offer tips and hints for writing, and readers are able to provide immediate feedback. It’s almost like having an extended writer’s group. I haven’t posted anything yet, I’m just reading and investigating for now.

Some of my friends are looking more into independently publishing. Their goal is to publish and distribute their books themselves. I’m still hopeful for a more classical approach by sending out tons of manuscripts and receiving a few rejection letters in return.

My plan, for right now at least, is to use the wondrous Internet resources to continue to develop my writing. I have several pages bookmarked on my computer to inspire me whenever I get behind in my writing. My favorite is the charts giving you options for frequently used words, like “said”. I’ve joined several other online writing groups that send out weekly email discussions. It’s proved more helpful than I initially thought it’d be two years ago when I signed up for it.

I’m always curious to see what other writers are up to. Do any of you have a favorite app or website that you frequently use for writing?

Thanks for reading!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

