The difference at night

I’d forgotten what it was like at night.

I had gotten so used to working during the day that I forgot how much things changed in the dark.

The short walk to the parking garage was usually pleasant and bright. Tonight, though, it was tense. The bright lights strung across the trees were not pretty and festive. They disguised the trees, illuminated the sidewalks in such a way that I almost got lost.

I was disoriented. It wasn’t from the two extra hours I spent at work, or the strange events that had occurred while I was there. It was the darkness.

I used to know the sidewalks in the dark. I’d walk them every week without fear. It’s been too long now, though, and everything is confusing. The brightly colored signs of the restaurants and stores on the strip are just as intimidating as the strung lights on the trees.

I clutched my bag tighter tonight as I walked back to my car.

I guess my nerves got the best of me tonight.

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

