The state of things

The state of things today, right now, is not good. It’s not bad, but it’s not good. It could definitely be worse, but that’s not the point.
The point is, how are things different? How are things better than this time last year?
They aren’t better, or much different.
I like to think I’m different. More determined than ever before.
But does that even matter if the things around me haven’t changed? Do I need to be the one that makes them change?
I don’t think that’s up to me.
I think I need to pull it together.
I wasted too much time not writing, making plans but not following through. I let myself get down too low, sink too far below the surface before I started kicking my way back.
That’s why things aren’t good right now.
But I’m trying. I had my first pumpkin spice latte of the season, which improves everything. I’ve gotten back to writing. I have to finish this book.
I have to make this year different.

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

