I think it’s been too long

I haven’t checked the date I was last on here, but I’m certain it’s been a while.

I think it’s safe to say that my writing “funk” has gotten the best of me the past month. More like I let it get the best of me. I’m feeling better now, and I’m actually getting some writing done. I worked on two scenes this week, and did some character sketching last night. It might not sound like much, but it’s more than I’ve done in weeks.

The past two months have been busy, but not in a fun way. I’ve been to the doctor a few times for a sinus infection that just won’t die, the dentist for a root canal and a crown, and I’ve had a cold haunting me since March. I don’t want to whine about being sick, though. There are people who way worse than me who aren’t lucky enough to have family so willing to take care of them.

Spring is here, hopefully for a while, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy for it. The sunshine is nice and the air is light and cool. The air around our apartment smells like fresh water. I don’t think my roommate believes me when I say that, but I think it’s one of the best smells.

There’s something exciting about this spring. It’s probably because of the violently cold winter we’ve had. It’s time to take long walks outside and take naps with all the windows open. The warmth has brought out people in their shorts and tank tops. It’s not summer yet, but everyone is ready for it. I feel the same way. It’s not quite warm enough to forgo a jacket in the morning, but I find myself doing it because I know it’ll be slightly warmer in the afternoon when I leave work.

I hope the warm weather has been inspiring to everyone else as it has been to me. I’m looking forward to exchanging chapters with a friend of mine this weekend. It’s scary to get to that point, to share what you’ve written with someone and hope they don’t look at you and say “Maybe you should get a new hobby.”

It’s been a long month.

Hopefully I’ll be on here more, writing and sharing what I’ve gotten done. Lately I haven’t gotten much done. It’s time to change that.

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

