January (so far)

So January is winding down, and here’s where I stand:

I have purchased tickets to two concerts, Dropkick Murphys in Chicago and Fall Out Boy in Indianapolis. They aren’t for a few months, but it’s something for me to look forward to. I made a promise to myself to have fun, and do things that I want to do. I love concerts. I used to go to them all the time, but then I stopped for a few years. It’s time to get back to that. To lose myself in a moment, to be so enthralled by a song that I forget the crowd around me.

My much discussed trip to Seattle will no longer be happening. At first, I was upset when we decided not to go. I love going on trips with my friends. I love traveling in general, but when I go with my friends I’m not the baby of the group, the youngest that doesn’t get a choice in what we do. I always prefer to have a choice. But I’ve been doing some thinking the past few weeks. With my brother’s wedding at the end of the year, I’ll need to save some of my vacation days for then. I also know that Seattle would have been a very expensive trip for me, and I would have blown most of my money early in the year. It’s time to actually think about my finances. 

I’ve been actively focusing on saving money because I got really lazy at the end of the last year. I was working so much that it was just easier to buy food instead of cooking anything. I’ve gotten back to cooking recently, which is healthier and saves money. I spent a few hours one night cooking food for a whole week. The only thing I had to buy was potatoes. I’ve stopped going out for coffee as well. Now that pumpkin season is over, I’m not exactly craving flavored lattes. I was pleased to see that I still had money in my account after paying all my bills this month. I may not be able to move to Boston as soon as I want, but at least now I have a plan. 

The next, and possibly most hilarious, is my plan for October. My wonderful friend Meghan and I have decided that we are going to the Supernatural convention in Chicago. We’ve been fans of the show for years, and have always wanted to go to a convention. Meghan once went to a Star Trek convention, but that’s another story. This year we just decided that we were going, no matter what. The three of us (Meghan, my roommate/BFF, and I) will get a hotel room together, then spend the weekend fangirling-out. The only concern we have is that tickets might sell out before we can buy ours. We’ll be waiting patiently until we can get our taxes filled out, and money returned. I’ve been checking the mail constantly in hopes of finding my W-2 forms. I might have to start selling plasma for this, but it’ll be worth it. 

I would have to say that so far, this year is going pretty well. I’ve gotten a decent amount of writing done. I’ve figured out how to be subtle about it at work so I can get more done when I have a few free minutes. I know, I shouldn’t do that at work, but I don’t let it interfere with getting my job done. Writing has been the best part of the year. I’d like to finish it by the summer, but I’m not imposing any sort of end date on myself, which takes the pressure off. I’ve gotten better quality work done. By better quality I mean I don’t read it the next day and want to set it on fire. I’m excited about my story again, and thrilled to see how things have developed. 

I’m trying to remain optimistic, which is hard for a cold, bitter soul like myself.

It’s going to be a good year.

Thank you for reading, and I hope everyone is staying warm out there! It’s currently in the negatives out here. Stay safe!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January (so far)

  1. We will get into the convention even if we have to break in, and I am so glad you are excited about your story again!

Leave a Reply

