Resolutions

It’s January, the beginning of the new year, and the beginning of new resolutions.

It’s a time of reflection, of making new promises, half of which will be forgotten before February. 

For me, though, it’s just a reminder of what I didn’t accomplish last year. How did I let other people ruin my plans? How did I let work rule my life and keep me from doing what makes me happy? How have I not finished my book yet? That was the plan last year. 

I don’t like making new year resolutions. I always sabotage myself. 

Instead of making some outrageous promise to myself and the world (that I probably couldn’t accomplish anyway) I’m just going to keep moving forward.

Keep moving forward with my writing, keep moving forward with my readings, keep doing things I’ve always wanted to do with my amazing friends, keep working towards my goal of moving to the east coast and one day having a cabin by the water.

I’m not going to make a big deal of it (like I did after I threw up on New Years Eve). It took me halfway through 2013 to realize that if I wanted my life to be better, I needed to do what makes me happy. Even if it doesn’t make my family happy. They don’t realize that I’ll love them no matter where I am.

So this is the plan: Keep writing. I started this blog last year to push myself to get more involved in online writing. I’ve enjoyed the rare feedback I’ve gotten. It’s exciting to think that I could be connecting with people across the world. I didn’t meet my goal of finishing my novel by the end of the year, but I’m not letting it get me down. I had to take on a second job to help pay bills, so I’ve had less time to plot and plan and drink coffee, but I feel that the writing I’ve gotten done in the past few months has been some of my best. It’s exciting to look at something I wrote last month and be like “Yes, I won’t have to trash most of this.”

I also plan to keep reading. I’ve always loved reading. My roommate always asks what’s wrong with me if she notices that I haven’t been reading as much. I like to read at least two books at a time. I’m still trying to figure out if I like audiobooks. 

Also on the books for this year, another vacation with my friends. It might sound silly to travel when I’m tight on cash, but when will I have the opportunity to travel as freely as I can right now? (If my cat didn’t throw up and cry in the car, he’d travel with me everywhere) This year we’ll be going to Seattle, WA, which is going to be awesome. It’s supposed to be beautiful there. 

So those are my continuing resolutions from mid-2013. It’s nothing new, or particularly intense. It’s just keeping the focus on the good things in my life. I can’t let the crazy things that happen distract me from my goals. I can’t make excuses for not getting things done anymore. 

2014, let’s keep on rolling like we did last year. 

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolutions

  1. Congratulations on your progress so far and good luck continuing with your resolutions.

Leave a Reply

