Lost in a moment

This weekend I had a moment that was borderline magical.

It wasn’t because I ate a giant turkey leg.

Or because I was dressed in a full length gown. 

Or because of the possibility of seeing a unicorn.

Or because I took a Sunday off to go to a renaissance faire in another state. 

It was because for the first time in a long time, I let myself get so caught up in something, that I didn’t remember to stop and take pictures. 

Usually when I go somewhere with my friends, I always have my camera or my phone ready for fun pictures. I like to document the event, and post in on Facebook to share with my family. My roommate and I have recently got into this thing where we print off the pictures we take so we can hang them up in our apartment. 

Even on family trips I have my camera ready to go. 

But on Sunday I only managed to take about five pictures. It wasn’t even because I was bored. 

It was too exciting for me to stop and get out my camera. There was so much going on I worried that if I stopped to take out my camera, I would miss something. It was my first renaissance faire, and I didn’t want to miss anything.

There were people in costumes. So many different costumes. And at the jousting event, I got out my camera, but forgot to keep taking pictures because I was so enthralled in the event. I found myself cheering for our blue knight when we won, and cheering again when he walked by us in the parade. 

There was delicious smelling food as well. Giant turkey legs, shepherd’s pie, and some soft pastries. The enticing scents wafted throughout the whole faire.

I meant to take pictures of the parade as well. All the workers were processing by and waving, but there were too many things I wanted to take a picture of. Our blue knight winked at me, and one man pointed at me and said “You stay fabulous!” It was amazing.

It wasn’t until the next day when I realized how few pictures I actually had to show people. I had so many stories to tell, but not even one picture of the giant turkey leg I had been so excited to eat. 

It reminded me of what it was like to be in love. The last time I was in love with someone, like truly in love and not just crushing on someone, I found that I took fewer pictures. I’m sure that many people are the opposite of me. They find themselves wanting to document every part of their happiness.

I’ve found that when I’m in love, or at least incredibly happy, I want to keep everything to myself. I want to spend as much time enjoying what I love, and tend to forget about taking pictures. I care less about proving how happy I am, and care more about enjoying the moment. 

I was in love with my Sunday. I was so enthralled with the sights, sounds, and scents of the day that I forgot about my generation’s need to document it. It was a moment, albeit a five hour long moment, that actually made me think about what I was doing, and made me long to feel that way again.

I hope everyone is enjoying what’s left of the summer! Thanks for reading!

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

