A little morning poetry

Good morning! I thought I’d post a poem I wrote when I was having a frustrating day. I think everyone has felt this way, that you wish someone would just listen to a little bit of reason. Here goes it:

 

I wish you had friends that were as good as mine.

Ones that would stop you and say, “That person you’re with is just awful, and you’re a better person without them.”

I wish you had friends that would remind you how smart you are,

And that you deserve better than the construction job you’ve settled for.

I wish you had friends that refused to let you give up.

Ones that would push you because because they know you could finish school and get a good job.

I wish you had friends that would tell you “A woman who tries to control a man’s life is the worst kind of woman.”

And, “A man that let’s his life be controlled by a horrible woman is a little bitch.”

I wish you had friends that would point out the difference between 21 and 30.

Ones that would remind you that you’re not 21 anymore, so you need to stop acting like it.

I wish you had friends that didn’t drink so much.

Ones that could have fun without a case of beer, or at least knew the meaning of “moderation”.

I wish you had friends that had dreams and ambitions.

I know that at one time you had a plan and hope for a successful future.

I wish you had friends like mine, big brother, because you refuse to listen to me.

 

Thank you for reading this brief expression of my frustration. I promise, the next poem I post will be more interesting. 

-JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

