The writer/baker

Since I’ve now gotten the obligatory awkward first post out of the way, I guess I could tell you more about who I am.

I am, first and foremost, a writer. I have been writing, or at least trying to, since I was ten years old. It started out with trying to write scary stories like the books I stole from my brother’s room, only I added poorly drawn pictures. Rereading them now, they aren’t really that good. But I tried. I was writing all the time, and reading just as much.

The stories I wrote were never that long. My writing has always been more direct and to the point. I would call the stories I wrote “books” even though they were less than five pages long. At that time, I didn’t know what a short story was. When I got to high school, though, I finally got a real understanding of what I was trying to write. I was writing short stories, creating small worlds within the short pages I would hand write while I sat outside at my parents house.

Once I found my writing style, I stuck with it. I kept writing short stories through college, and even now it’s still my favorite thing to write. I also write poetry, but I like to think that everyone writes poetry.

I usually write poetry when I’m emotional, which is as ridiculous as it sounds. When I wold get in a fight with my friends, or have a bad day, I would write the most obnoxiously dramatic poem. Most of the time, it was pretty bad. Sometimes, though, I would go back to the poem and find something good in it. I could take a few lines and work it into something better, or use it as inspiration for a short story.

I like to think that I’m a writer first, and a baker second. I’ve loved baking almost as long as I’ve loved writing. Baking brings back memories of staying up late with my mom to help make Christmas cookies and tea rings. I always felt like her little helper. My mom always tells me that she’s not really a baker, she’s a jack of all trades because she can pretty much cook or bake anything. I think my mom is the best, though. She taught me to how to bake, and is part of the reason I love it so much.

Right now I’m working as a baker in a restaurant. After I graduated from college, I had a tough time finding a job. I took a job at a restaurant to get by, then worked my way over to the baking side. I hadn’t planned on working there as long as I have, but it pays the bills for now while I begin my journey to become a published author. I still love baking, but I have plans. Interesting ones that include my first novel, but more on that next week. 

So, that’s where I am right now. Baking during the day, writing pretty much anytime I can. I plan on keeping this updated at least once a week, so stay tuned! Next week I’ll be talking about what inspired me to go from short stories to a full length novel.

Thanks for reading, and I hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful weather!

 

–JBL

About jblamping

I'm just going to keep writing until I run out of words
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

